Connect with us

How Nigeria Got to 36 States (Timeline of State Creation in Nigeria)


How Nigeria Got to 36 States (Timeline of State Creation in Nigeria)

Let’s Start With The Definition Of A State

What is a state?

A state is a politically organised body of people inhabiting a geographical entity with a well legitimate government. 

How Did Nigeria Move From The First 3 Regions To The Last 36 States?

Below Is The Timeline Of State Creation In Nigeria

1960 -1963 => Northern Region, Western Region and Eastern Region

1963 -1967=> Northern Region, Western Region, Mid Western Region (carved out of Western Region), Eastern Region.

General Yakubu Gowon Created The Following States

1967 -1976 => Northern Region was divided into North Eastern State, North Western State, Kano, Kaduna, Kwara, Benue-Plateau. Lagos (carved out of the Western Region), Western State. Mid Western region was renamed Bendel. Eastern Region was divided into East Central State, Cross River and Rivers.

General Murtala Mohammed Created The Following States

1976 – 23 September, 1987 => Abuja (FCT) was carved out of Niger State. North Western State was divided into Sokoto and Niger, while North Eastern State was divided into Borno, Gongola and Bauchi. Benue-Pleateau was seperated into Benue and Plateau. Western State was divided into Oyo, Ogun and Ondo. East Central State was divided into Anambra and Imo.

General Ibrahim Babangida Created The Following States

23 September, 1987 – 27 August, 1991 => Katisna was carved out of Kaduna. Akwa Ibom also came into existence.

27 August 1991 – Oct. 1996 => Abia came into existence. Gongola was divided into Adamawa and Taraba. Enugu was created. Bendel was divided into Edo and Delta. Jigawa was carved out of Kano and Yobe, out of Borno. Kebbi was created from Sokoto and Osun from Oyo. Kogi also came into existence.

See also  Peruzzi – “Destiny” (Prod. by Vstix)

General Sani Abacha Created The Following States

1996 – 1998 => Ebonyi, Bayelsa, Nasarawa, Zamfara, Gombe and Ekiti were created.

That is the timeline of state creation in Nigeria.


  • Gen. Yakubu Gowon’s administration created twelve (12) states in 1967
  • Gen. Murtala Muhammed’s administration created seven (7) states in 1976
  • Gen. Ibrahim Babangida’s administration created eleven (11) states in 1987 & 1991
  • Gen. Sani Abacha’s administration created six (6) states in 1996

Continue Reading
You may also like...

An Interior Designer | Blogger | Web Designer | Promoter | Latest Music, videos, New & Other Files Updater

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in General

Sell Ur Cryptocurrency & GiftCardS


To Top